# NEWCASTLE-UNDER\_LYME BOROUGH COUNCIL

#### **REPORT OF THE EXECUTIVE MANAGEMENT TEAM TO COUNCIL**

#### September 2015

# APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN FOR NEWCASTLE-UNDER-

#### **Submitted by:** Democratic Services Manager (Mayor's Secretary)

#### Portfolio: Communications, Policy and Partnerships

In accordance with the Council's decision on 4 June 2014 to adopt the principle of appointing Honorary Aldermen the Mayor has called a Special Meeting of the Council to consider making such appointments.

Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 enables Council's to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Council as past elected members. Thus, the title can only be conferred upon past members of the Council who are not councillors at the date of the meeting.

The Councils constitution in this matter is worded as follows:-

"That an Honorary Alderman shall at least:-

- a) Not be a serving Member of the Council.
- b) Be a person of distinction who has rendered eminent services to the Council and the community.
- c) Have served a period of not less than 12 years on the Council which may be continuous or discontinuous.
- d) Have normally held a substantive office on the Council such as Mayor, Committee Chair, Group Leader, or Cabinet Member"

Any such appointment must be made by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting thereon at a special meeting of the Council.

Honorary Alderman are entitled to attend civic occasions as the Council may from time to time decide. They do not have any specific right to participate in the ordinary business of the Council.

The Council is now invited to consider appointing further Honorary Aldermen for Newcastle-under-Lyme by passing the following resolutions:-

# David William Becket

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 David Becket be admitted as an Honorary Alderman in recognition and appreciation of his long and eminent services to the people of the Borough through his duties as a Member of the Borough Council for a period of 13 years between 2002 and 2015 including as Mayor in 2012-13.

## **Michael Gerald Brereton**

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Michael Gerald Brereton be admitted as an Honorary Alderman in recognition and appreciation of his long and eminent service to the people of the Borough through his duties as a Member of the Borough Council for a total of 17 years between 1979-1980, 1982-1994 and 1996-2000 including as Leader of the Council between 1984-1994.

# Sylvia Teresa Butler

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Sylvia Butler be admitted as an Honorary Alderman in recognition and appreciation of her long and eminent service to the people of the Borough through her duties as a Member of the Borough Council for a period of 16 years between 1992 -2008 including as Mayor in 2000-2001.

## Elizabeth Caddy JP

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Elizabeth Caddy JP be admitted as an Honorary Alderman in recognition and appreciation of her long and eminent service to the people of the Borough through her duties as a Member of the Borough Council for a period of 18 years between 1986-2004 including as Mayor in 1994-1995.

#### Albert Arthur Clarke

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Albert Arthur Clarke be admitted as an Honorary Alderman in recognition and appreciation of his long and eminent service to the people of the Borough through his duties as a Member of the Borough Council for a total of 16 years between 1990-2006 including as Mayor in 1997-1998.

#### **David Clarke**

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 David Clarke be admitted as an Honorary Alderman in recognition and appreciation of his long and eminent service to the people of the Borough through his duties as a Member of the Borough Council for a period of 12 years between 2000-2012 including as Mayor in 2007-2008.

# **Michael Ross Clarke**

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Michael Ross Clarke be admitted as an Honorary Alderman In recognition and appreciation of his long and eminent service to the people of the Borough through his duties as a Member of the Borough Council for a total of 24 years between 1984-2000,2003-2007 and 2010-2014 and as a former Chair of the Finance and Management, Housing Services and Planning Committees.

# **Barrie Critchlow**

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Barrie Critchlow be admitted as an Honorary Alderman in recognition and appreciation of his long and eminent service to the people of the Borough through his duties as a Member of the Borough Council for a period 12 years between 1991-2003 and as former Chair of the Housing Services Committee.

#### **John Stanley Evans**

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 John Stanley Evans be admitted as an Honorary Alderman in recognition and appreciation of his long and eminent service to the people of the Borough through his duties as a Member of the Borough Council for a total of 28 years between 1979-1990 and 1991-2008 including as a former Chair of the Planning Committee.

#### William Nigel Jones

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 William Nigel Jones be admitted as an Honorary Alderman in recognition and appreciation of his long and eminent service to the people of the Borough through his duties as a Member of the Borough Council for a period of 13 years between 2002 -2015 including as Group Leader of the Liberal Democrat Party in 2014-15.

#### **Bertram Cedric Lawton**

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Bertram Cedric Lawton be admitted as an Honorary Alderman in recognition and appreciation of his long and eminent service to the people of the Borough through his duties as a Member of the Borough Council for a period of 24 years between 1982-2006 including as a former Chair of Conservation Areas Advisory Working Party.

#### **Joseph Harry Matthews**

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Joseph Harry Matthews be admitted as an Honorary Alderman in recognition and appreciation of his long and eminent service to the people of the Borough through his duties as a Member of the Borough Council for a period of 19 years between 1983-2002 including as Mayor in 1989-1990, Deputy Leader of the Council between 1999-2002 and as a former Chair of the Planning Committee.

# **Raymond Andre Slater**

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Raymond Andre Slater be admitted as an Honorary Alderman in recognition and appreciation of his long and eminent service to the people of the Borough through his duties as a Member of the Borough Council for a period of 17 years between 1994-2011 including as Mayor in 2003-2004.

# John Taylor

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 John Taylor be admitted as an Honorary Alderman in recognition and appreciation of his long and eminent service to the people of the Borough through his duties as a Member of the Borough Council for a total of 16 years between 1990-2002 and 2011-2015 including as a former Chair of the Environmental Health and Control, Housing Services and Standards Committees.